2014 British Walking Festivals

walking festivalsWalking festivals are a great way to explore new areas and new routes, as well as meeting people that share your love of the outdoors. They vary from events with short routes for the whole family to tough walks spanning several days.

Below we’ve listed links to all the walking festivals we are currently aware of – if you are planning one please get in touch and let us know!

The walking festivals are arranged in date order – to find a specific festival please use the browsers page find (CTRL-F on most computers). Where possible, we have included a link for more information and to book places.

Festival Name Website Start Date
Crickhowell Walking Festival crickhowellfestival.com 01 March 2014
Still Walking Festival stillwalking.org 14 March 2014
Boscastle Walking Festival boscastlefestival.co.uk 28 March 2014
Berwick upon Tweed Walking Festival berwickwalking.co.uk 05 April 2014
Blaenavon Walking Festival visitblaenavon.co.uk 05 April 2014
Leominster Walkers are Welcome eominstertourism.co.uk 10 April 2014
Chepstow Walking Festival walksinchepstow.co.uk 12 April 2014
Dearne Valley Walking Festival dvwf.org.uk 12 April 2014
Walk Scilly simplyscilly.co.uk 12 April 2014
The John Muir Festival johnmuirway.org 17 April 2014
Boroughbridge & Lower Ure Valley boroughbridgewalks.org.uk 18 April 2014
Bristol Walking Festival bristol.gov.uk 26 April 2014
Haltwhistle Walking Festival haltwhistlewalkingfestival.org 26 April 2014
North Devon and Exmoor Walking Festival exmoorwalkingfestival.co.uk 26 April 2014
Peak District Walking Festival 2014 visitpeakdistrict.com 26 April 2014
Ulverston WalkFest ulverstonwalkfest.co.uk 26 April 2014
ride2stride (Settle-Carlisle Walking Festival) skyware.co.uk 29 April 2014
Wirral Walking Festival visitwirral.com 01 May 2014
Talgarth Walking Festival talgarthwalkingfestival.org 02 May 2014
Cambrian Mountains Walking Weekend (Tregaron) walktregaron.co.uk 02 May 2014
Big Welsh Walk ramblers.org.uk 03 May 2014
Cardiff Walking Festival cardiff.gov.uk 03 May 2014
Corby Walking Festival corbywalkingfestival.org.uk 03 May 2014
Get Walking Week ramblers.org.uk 03 May 2014
Ironbridge Gorge Walking Festival visitironbridge.co.uk 03 May 2014
Isle of Wight isleofwightwalkingfestival.co.uk 03 May 2014
Llangollen Walking Festival FB:LlangollenWalkingFestival 03 May 2014
Stevenage Walking Festival stevenagewalkingfestival.webs.com 03 May 2014
Brampton Get Walking Week bramptonwalkersarewelcome.com 03 May 2014
International Waendel Walk wellingborough.gov.uk 09 May 2014
Newton Stewart Walkfest newtonstewartwalkfest.co.uk 09 May 2014
Caerphilly Challenge 2014 your.caerphilly.gov.uk 10 May 2014
Chesterfield Area Walking Festival chesterfield.gov.uk 10 May 2014
Garstang Walking Festival wyre.gov.uk 10 May 2014
Suffolk Walking Festival suffolkwalkingfestival.co.uk 10 May 2014
Jersey Walking Festival jersey.com 10 May 2014
Aviemore Walking Festival aviemorewalking.talktalk.net 11 May 2014
Isle of Man Walking Festival iomevents.com 11 May 2014
Keswick Walking Festival keswickmountainfestival.co.uk 15 May 2014
Prestatyn and Clwydian Walking Festival prestatynwalkingfestival.co.uk 16 May 2014
Whitchurch Walking Festival whitchurchwalkers.co.uk 16 May 2014
Winchcombe Cotswolds Walking Festival winchcombewelcomeswalkers.com 16 May 2014
Arran Mountain Festival arranmountainfestival.co.uk 16 May 2014
Lincolnshire Wolds Walking Festival woldswalkingfestival.co.uk 17 May 2014
National Forest Walking Festival thenationalforestwalkingfestival.org.uk 17 May 2014
Ballater Walking Festival royal-deeside.org.uk 17 May 2014
Rutland Walking Festival discover-rutland.co.uk 18 May 2014
Llanelli Ramblers Festival of Walks llanelliramblers.org.uk 23 May 2014
Malvern Walking Festival malvern-hills.co.uk 24 May 2014
Delyn Walk holywell-town.gov.uk 25 May 2014
Vale of Glamorgan Walking Festival valeofglamorganwalkingfestival.org.uk 29 May 2014
Wrexham Walking Festival walksinwrexham.com 01 June 2014
Angus Glens Walking Festival angusglenswalkingfestival.com 05 June 2014
Church Stretton Walking Festival churchstretton.co.uk 05 June 2014
Mortimer Country Walking Festival exploremortimercountry.com 06 June 2014
Gower Walking Festival gowerwalkingfestival.org 07 June 2014
Bishops Castle Walking Festival walkingfestival.co.uk 10 June 2014
Arundel Walking Festival arundelwalkingtours.co.uk 14 June 2014
Herefordshire Walking Festival rosedaleabbey.com 14 June 2014
Rosedale Walking Festival visitherefordshire.co.uk 14 June 2014
East Peak Outdoors Festival epip.org.uk 15 June 2014
Wellington Walking Festival wellingtonwalkersarewelcome.org.uk 16 June 2014
Moray Walking Festival moraywalkingfestival.co.uk 19 June 2014
Rothbury and Coquetdale Walking Festival rothburywalking.co.uk 21 June 2014
Otley Walking Festival otleywalkingfestival.co.uk 21 June 2014
Corsham for Walking Festival corshamforwalking.org.uk 28 June 2014
Conwy Walking Week conwy.gov.uk/walkingweek 02 July 2014
Rother Ramblers Walking Festival rotherramblers.org.uk 06 July 2014
Guildford WalkFest guildford.gov.uk/walkfest 12 July 2014
Midlothian Walking Festival midlothian.gov.uk 09 August 2014
Black Combe Walking Festival walkingfest.org.uk 18 August 2014
White Cliffs Walking Festival dealwalkingfestival.org.uk 21 August 2014
Sandwell Six Towns Challenge Walk/Run sandwellramblers.talktalk.net/ 24 August 2014
Tomintoul and Glenlivet Walking / Cycling Festival tgwf.co.uk 28 August 2014
Corwen Walking Festival corwenwalkingfestival.co.uk 30 August 2014
Ceredigion Walking Festival walk-wales.co.uk 01 September 2014
Moffat Walking Festival visitmoffat.co.uk/ 01 September 2014
Scottish Borders Walking Festival borderswalking.com 01 September 2014
STEPtember 2014 Walking Festival walkcambrianmountains.co.uk 01 September 2014
The Valleys Walking Festival walesvalleyswalking.co.uk 01 September 2014
Pateley Bridge Walking Festival pbwf.co.uk 01 September 2014
Bradford Upon Avon Walking Festival walkbradfordonavon.org 05 September 2014
Bedfordshire Walking Festival bedswalkfest.co.uk 06 September 2014
South Pennines Walk and Ride Festival walkandridefestival.co.uk 06 September 2014
Seven Wonders of the Oswestry Hills shropshirewildlifetrust.org.uk 07 September 2014
Mendip Hills Walking Festival mendipwalkingfestival.org.uk 11 September 2014
Amber Valley & Erewash Walking Festival ‘Autumn Footprints’ autumnfootprints.co.uk 13 September 2014
Barmouth Walking Festival barmouthwalkingfestival.co.uk 13 September 2014
South East Cornwall Walking Festival visit-southeastcornwall.co.uk 13 September 2014
Knighton Walking Weekend visitknighton.co.uk 13 September 2014
VHEY (Lincolnshire) Walking Festival n/a 13 September 2014
Yorkshire Wolds Walking Festival theyorkshirewolds.com 13 September 2014
Snaith Walking Festival snaithandcowicktowncouncil.co.uk 14 September 2014
Kington Walks walking festival kingtonwalks.org 18 September 2014
Richmond Walking and Book Festival booksandboots.org 20 September 2014
Swanage and Purbeck Walking Festival walkswanage.com 20 September 2014
Pickering Walking Festival pickeringwalkingfestival.co.uk 26 September 2014
Ross on Wye Walking Festival rosswalkingfestival.co.uk 26 September 2014
North Pennines Walking Festival northpennines.org.uk 27 September 2014
Hay Walking Festival haywalking.org 01 October 2014
Snowdonia Walking Festival snowdoniawalkingfestival.co.uk 01 October 2014
Dursley Walking Festival dursleywelcomeswalkers.org.uk 10 October 2014
Drovers’ Tryst Walking Festival droverstryst.com 11 October 2014
Bollington Walking Festival cheshirepeakdistrict.com 18 October 2014
Fal River Autumn Walking Festival falriver.co.uk 18 October 2014
New Forest Walking Festival newforestnpa.gov.uk 18 October 2014
Monmouthshire Walking Festival walkinginmonmouthshire.org 18 October 2014
Lyme Regis Walking Festival lymeregis.org 01 November 2014
WinterFest – Winter Walking Festival naturalhighguiding.co.uk 06 February 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *